Photo view Bidart Basque Country

Euskal Herria

Basque Country

The Basque Country, known to its inhabitant as Euskal Herria, is a cross-border territory comprising 7 provinces with a total population of over 3 million!

In the north (France), there are three: Labourd (Bayonne), Basse-Navarre (Saint-Jean Pied de Port) and Soule (Mauléon).

In the south (Spain), there are four: Guipuzcoa (San Sebastian), Vizcaya (Bilbao), Alava (Vitoria-Gasteiz) and Navarre (Pamplona).

A common culture, traditions and, above all, a common language bind together this territory situated between the sea and the mountains. Its two best-known emblems are the Ikurrina, the Basque flag, and the Lauburu, the name of the Basque cross.

The Basque language or Euskara, one of the oldest living languages in Western Europe, remains as mysterious as the origins of the Basque people.

To help you organize your stay, we’ve listed our must-sees by geographical area.

Between ocean and mountains

Espelette, Ainhoa, Sare, Itxassou, la Bastide-Clairence …

Photo report by Teddy Bear (instagram lezbroz)

Ocean side

Bayonne, Biarritz, Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Hendaye …

Mountain side

Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, Aldudes Valley, Irouleguy …

Biarritz by – Delphine Photography Biarritz

Spanish Basque Country

San Sebastian, Hondarribia, Bilbao, Bardenas and the Spanish coast …